The rise of James Price

When making the decision of pursuing photography as a career, it can be easy to get discouraged and doubt your own abilities. I had a chat with photographer James Price to find out how he deals with the common struggles photographers face in today’s society, as well as how he himself is affected by photography.

Pictured above: James Price

“The worst thing anyone starting out can do is be stagnant”

James Price

When did you decide to pursue photography, and when you did how did people react?

I started to pursue photography outside of it just being a hobby in late 2018. I had been very fortunate to have artistic friends around me, so when I told them that I had begun to undertake it more seriously they were super supportive in both their words and their actions.

The reaction of my family and friends outside of the creative fields was hesitant, and cautionary, but my continued growth and experiences have garnered me with acceptance and support from all spheres. I actually feel quite blessed!

Do you prefer shooting on digital or film?

Digital is much easier to work with for certain projects. It’s very easy to edit, there are undoubtedly many facets to mixing and cutting things together – distorting the qualities that already existed in the photo and adding other layers on top. Those are skills that I massively respect, and look to improve upon in my own work. However, I much prefer shooting on film.

The quality of 35mm film is so tactile, yet soft. So elegant and rich, and quite simple. I understand it intrinsically. I’m not having to second guess myself or make promises to fix it in post – when I shoot with film it just feels natural.

Do you feel that photographers are taken seriously?

This is a complex question. I think that photographers who have recognition, some level of fame (or celebrity), and many connections that can get them into places, spaces, and opportunities that others cannot, are taken seriously. Sadly not all of us have those things from the get go. I have found that photographers are taken seriously by other photographers, and other creatives in general, but often when speaking to individuals outside those fields, the recognition and value of your work often requires a burden of proof.

Photography by James Price

Do you think there are any stereotypes surrounding photographers?

I think that there are stereotypes around any profession – some are accurate and some less so. I have found that people are surprised when I’m not only on time, but punctual. I firmly believe that just because we’re creatives, doesn’t mean we should be any less professional in our approaches.

I’ve also heard that some photographers are very protective and secretive with their work? I understand that one a little more, but I also feel that if someone you’ve worked with or a client is asking for more images, it’s in everyone’s best interests to do so. More editing can always be done – more retouching or restyling, often just sharing means that people have access to more of your work more often, and that can only be good.

Have you ever doubted your artistic ability?

I have doubted myself, for sure. Not just my artistic ability, but my credibility and skills as a whole! I think anyone who says they haven’t doubted themselves isn’t being honest with themselves about how difficult being an emerging artist is.

Photography by James Price

What has been a highlight of your career so far?

I’ve felt very privileged to have been able to work with the individuals of the calibre I have. I know that my professional highlight was when I worked with Sebastian Nevols, shooting individuals such as Ken Loach and Christian Louboutin. But I think my personal highlight was being reached out to to be the sole photographer at an event at the Library Club in Trafalgar Square. Not only was the event incredible – filled to the brim with humble, honest, and insanely talented people, but to have been contacted directly was so surreal, and an experience I won’t ever forget.

What has been your favourite project to work on?

Working for 187mob on their Heartbreaker collection was (and continues to be) one of the most exciting projects I have worked on thus far. The brand is growing as I do, and to see our collaboration reach more and more people is something that brings me personal pride and joy.

But, if I’m being honest, my favourite project so far has been my involvement in the Open Mic and my growing collection of portraits of artists in South London at the sharing – hosted by Jamel Alatise at the Commercial. New artists come in every fortnight and bare their souls, share their musings, and I have the privilege of capturing these moments. It’s not always easy, but always rewarding and I think that’s why it’s my favourite thus far.

Do you feel that you fit in within society?

I don’t think I’ve ever felt like I ‘fit in’ with society, as you put it. However, I think that I understand my place more now than I ever did before, and as a result I think that I feel more at ease with my place in society now, even if society sees me differently to how I see myself.

Photography by James Price

Would you say photography influences you as a person?

For sure. I mean, I now nearly always carry a camera with me, even on days when I don’t have work, or a client to meet. I’m always strapped, always ready to engage in it, which is definitely new. I have also found that the way I see my world is slightly different now. Everything I look at is in frames. I’m immediately thinking about what settings I would use to capture what I see in the way my minds eye does. I’m far more visually oriented now than I ever was before.

What advice would you give to anyone thinking of pursuing photography as a career?

Keep learning. Keep engaging in new experiences. Say yes to jobs you’ve never done before (although always communicate that before agreeing!) Challenge yourself. The worst thing anyone starting out can do is be stagnant.

Photography by James Price

Find James on Instagram here:

@slightlypricey

@un_homme_apres_lhiver